I don’t know what I did before the Internet

How was life before the Internet?

The internet now reigns the kingdom called “world” and has become one essential and “must have” tool in every home, office, organization, school, university etc. Google search engine has replaced dictionaries and thesaurus; Skype, Windows Live messenger, Yahoo and Gmail for communication etc. Life is moving at a faster pace and technology rules. All the iPads, iPhones, Apples and Windows and cell phones are a part and parcel of our daily lives. The internet definitely has influenced us humans and changed many habits we had long ago. However we get so excited and reflect on how life could have been without them. How about life before internet? About 15 years ago when we had only heard about computers or seen a few in movies.

Previously: We’d wake up in the morning; take a cold shower in summer or a warm one in winter. Drink coffee on the balcony. Visit family and friends and hang out for a while.

Now: First thing in the morning we go on Twitter to say good morning to everyone or check our IM accounts (who’s online?) or update facebook status to: “Good morning everyone. I’m having breakfast :D”. And definitely the last thing we do before going to bed.

Previously: Fun was defined us meeting with friends and family and hanging out with our pals. Also visiting our home owns to see old grandma and grandpa. Having dinner or a get together at a friend’s place.

Now: We wish each other happy birthday on facebook and twitter r simply a text is enough. IM your friend who is seated 2 seats away from you.

Sometimes I sit and wonder how I spent Saturday nights at home 6 years ago, we had no computer and it wasn’t like I was watching movies all the time either. I seriously can’t remember how I killed time. Oh yeah I remember! I used to do lots of drawings, accessories with beads and play around with mom’s sewing machine. They were the good old days. And now look at me. The second I’m bored I’m on Twitter or facebook or chatting.

Has the internet made us less creative? In the sense that we no longer try out new things but rather choose to go online since it’s a “better” option. I don’t know, what do you think?

Sugar.

3 responses to “I don’t know what I did before the Internet

  • Katherine Walker

    I think it some ways it is not so good, we have less face-to-face time, we develop fewer skills (like you said you used to make art in your free time) and I used to read more books. I took off some time and hung out at my mom’s a few years back and I read many books, returned to knitting and watched a lot of classic movies.

    So, I don’t know — it’s good and bad. We are more ‘connected’ to the world, in a more global sense, but the balance is out of wack. I sometimes just take the day off from my phone and computer and it feels good.

    Thanks for the topic.

  • Armigatus

    I am so glad that I was born before the digital revolution, that I got to play outside, and that I had the patience of reading entire books.

  • Aladdin

    What would we do without Internet? emailing, chatting, facebook..? as if we don’t have enough going on in our own lives, we seem to be more curious about what everyone else is up to? well, lets look at the brigher side -atleast we’re improving on our typing skills!

Leave a Reply

